Ludwig van Beethoven (December 16, 1770 to March 26, 1827) was a German pianist and composer. The predominant musical figure in the transition between the Classical and the Romantic periods in music, he remains one of the most recognized and influential of all composers. His best-known compositions include the nine symphonies, five piano concertos, violin concerto, 32 piano sonatas, and his 16 string quartets.

Widely regarded as the greatest composer who ever lived, Ludwig van Beethoven dominates a period of musical history as no one else before or since. Rooted in the Classical traditions of Joseph Haydn and Mozart, his art reaches out to embrace the new spirit of humanism expressed in the works of Goethe and other contemporaries in the world of literature.

He revealed more vividly than any of his predecessors the power of music to convey a philosophy of life without the aid of a spoken text; and in certain of his compositions is to be found the strongest assertion of the human will in all music, if not in all art. He was a considerable innovator of musical form, widening the scope of the sonata, symphony, concerto and quartet, while in the Ninth Symphony he combined the worlds of vocal and instrumental music in a manner never before attempted.

His personal life was marked by a heroic struggle against deafness, and some of his most important works were composed during the last 10 years of his life when he was quite unable to hear. In an age that saw the decline of court and church patronage, he not only maintained himself from the sale and publication of his works but also was the first musician to receive a salary with no duties other than to compose how and when he felt inclined.

路德維希··貝多芬(誕生於1770年12月16日, 逝世於1827年3月26日)是德國鋼琴家與作曲家。他是介於古典和浪漫音樂過渡時期代表性的音樂人物,並且也是最受認可和最具影響力的作曲家之一。他最著名的作品包括九首交響曲,五首鋼琴協奏曲,小提琴協奏曲,三十二首鋼琴奏鳴曲及十六首弦樂四重奏。




Listening: 音樂欣賞:

Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67 | C小調第5號交響曲,作品編號 67

Sonata No. 8 in C minor, Op. 13 | C小調鋼琴奏鳴曲第8號,作品編號13

Violin Concerto, Op. 61 | 小提琴協奏曲,作品編號61

Symphony No. 9 in D minor, Op. 125 | D小調第9號交響曲,作品編號125

Grosse Fuge, Op. 133 | 大賦格,作品編號 133